Couch to 5K

A couple of weeks ago I realized I need to include fitness in my quest for a healthy life. I had been thinking about doing some sort of challenge and I had done a half marathon ten years ago, so it was the one that crossed my  mind over and over. Although it was a great experience and I met some awesome people (especially my running buddy ), it just seemed too daunting of a task to take on right now.

A friend told me about the Couch to 5K program (C2K) with which she had great success( Way to go Tracy!). I figured since I had already done 21k, a little 5k would be no biggie (when will I ever learn?)! I kept coming across all of these cool runs; The Colour Run http://thecolorrun.com/, and The Survivor Mud Run, http://thecolorrun.com/ to name a few, and felt so excited to think I too could be cool if I were able to do them!

The first “run” went splendidly well. After psyching myself up by looking at the above mentioned websites, I called my Daddio, who is a former runner, and asked if were capable of doing a 5k with me this summer. He stopped running due to old injuries and arthritis, but figured he could do something small like this and agreed. I then texted another friend on a whim, asking her if she was interested in running. We don’t live in the same province, but I figured if I could enlist someone to go through it with, we would be able to discuss our ups and downs as they occurred. She also agreed. I then headed to my favourite park, with my favourite friend (Scoob, as if you didn’t know!) and easily completed week 1/workout 1 of the C2k. I already had visions of my gorgeous legs when I became a running star!

 

Before I go any further, I must clarify something. Other than taking long weekend walks with Scooby and the occasional 20 minute yoga routine, I have not done any serious exercise in years. It is one of those things that fell away when I started getting overwhelmed with my life and the foggier my brain got, the less I even thought about it. Now that the fog has lifted, there is a glaring neon sign that reads: Get out of the lazy boy (I don’t own a couch) and get moving!

Get moving I did! Despite buckets of rain and thunder storms, I managed to complete my first week of the program with relative ease. I think I was still pumped on the idea of being cool. Then came week two. Being a morning person, I like to do my walks/adventures in the mornings on the weekend. The program calls for three runs/walks per week and you are supposed to spread them out to allow your body time to adjust. Hmmm…I  already get up at 6:00 for work and scramble out the door without much time to spare. How about after school? Well, during week two the sun actually made an appearance and it was rather hot. So I had a nap instead; hahaha. I woke up to another thunder-storm! Hmmm… plenty of excuses standing in my way.

As I often do, I had a little talk with myself. I highly recommend it :). Excuses be gone! I knew it would be difficult for me, that is why I decided to do it. Nothing worth having comes easily right?

This morning I set out to do week 2/workout 2. I left my darling at home because he is not used to this new thing called running and tries to venture down over river banks while attached to me by a leash! I had proper nourishment and the weather was  perfect. Aghhh! It was still a bit hard for me. I felt heavy. I kept getting mixed up with the times (run for 1.5 mins, walk for 2 mins) and got frustrated and grouchy. It only lasts for 2o minutes, so I kept telling myself I can do anything for 20 minutes. Afterwards I felt good about doing it, but realized it is not going to be as simple as I thought it would be. Surprise!

I am going to have to put some thought into it, just like I do EVERYTHING else. I have to plan ahead, figure out what works best, get a schedule going. I must remember not to get overwhelmed. I must keep in mind the myriad reasons why I want to run:

  • The legs!
  • Clear mind
  • Fitness
  • To be a part of something
  • Social aspects
  • Learn to push through difficult feelings
  • Feel cool 🙂

I need all the support and tips I can get. Feel free to dish!

6 thoughts on “Couch to 5K

  1. I am so glad you are doing this! And I envy you. I never got to DO my marathon (was at the 1/2 way point of training 6 or 7 years ago when my first ER surgery happened) …. But I loved the sexy legs, how healthy I was feeling, less tired etc. I asked my most recent surgeon if I could start running again …. and alas, it not going to happen for a while yet, until the most recent surgery heals up. For heavens sake, just carrying a few groceries yesterday, has made for one very sore lady today! 😦 I am going to live vicariously through you, OK?

  2. Hang in there!
    When I was marathon training and needed inspriation for my early wake up calls and ridiculously long runs, I would always picture the finish line and tell myself that I am a marathoner (which I never thought I would say). It helped get me moving and once I was moving I remembered all the reasons that I love to run. Think about how proud you will feel crosing that finish line. The race is only half of the fun…signing up and training is just as tough and excitiing. Keep posting about your running journey and know that your blogger friends are hear to cheer you on!

    Ps When I don’t want to count time because it gets frustrating, I use landmarks. Run two light poles, walk one. It helps me focus on the environment, which i love and not my watch!

  3. Sometimes the hardest thing for me is just getting out the door. My walking coach for the full Disney World marathon I did came to give a talk to my TOPS group one time about the benefits of simply walking….she said “when you don’t feel like walking just say that you’ll walk 10-15 minutes down the road…that way you have to walk the same distance to get back.” and remember when we trained together, we would picture the finish line! And remember the day we finished the half…seeing the crowds of people as we approached the end and how excited we were and what a wonderful feeling crossing that finish line was! I’m training for the Marathon by the Sea in Saint John, NB right now…as a walker of course, it’s a hilly course but I keep thinking of how great crossing the finish line will be and what a great sense of accomplishment I’ll have!!!!! Every journey starts with that first step! Love ya!

    • So true, thanks. I have no problem getting out the door, but each time before I go I am apprehensive, asking myself, “can I do this?” I don’t know why I think I can’t! Since it is so short of a distance (compared to a half marathon), I want to run, in order to challenge myself. I walk all the time and it is not a challenge to walk 5k, and the marathon is too big of one! I have to keep my brain in check. Thanks for the good advice/memories 🙂 Keep me up to date with your training too.

Leave a Reply

