Inquiring Minds Want To Know…

The almond milk in the picture is not the one I use. I bought that one by accident; full of sugar! I use an organic, no sugar one.

The first thing I do each morning as soon as I get out of bed, is have a big glass of cold water with lemon in it. I know some people drink warm water, rather like a tea with lemon, but I prefer cold. Totally refreshing!

Breakfast

During the week I eat two whole wheat high fiber toast (7 grams total) and a smoothie. My smoothie consists of:

  • 1 cup of greens (kale or spinach)
  • 1 cup raspberries and blueberries
  • 1 banana
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 2 tbsp of chia seeds
  • almond milk and water (this week used coconut water)

This breakfast keeps me full until noon. I have tried leaving out the toast and I get hungry mid morning. A few times a week I have coffee around 10:00 🙂 recess time! I don’t snack in the morning because I am busy and never hungry.

Weekends

I eat a bigger, more involved breakfast on the weekend because I have lots of time to cook. I like to eat toast with an omlet (2 whole eggs, one egg white, lots of veggies and goat cheese), or organic oatmeal with banana and maple syrup and yogurt with fruit.

Lunch

I find that eating a good hearty lunch is an integral part of having a successful day. If I don’t eat well, or eat enough, it throws off my the rest of my day. When I eat the following things I have lots of energy through the afternoon and enjoy a positive stable mood.

Main meal: Soup or salad.

Each Sunday I make some type of hearty soup to bring for lunch a few days a week. I put loads of veggies( I like kale, sweet potato, zucchini, herbs (sometimes I put curry), beans, and lentils in it. It is tasty and really satisfying! I like to call it my “Power Soup”.

Salad: Usually spinach or Italian greens, whatever veggies I have and about 1/4 cup of toasted sliced almonds. Sometimes I put chick peas in too. I make my own dressing using olive oil and balsamic vinegar. If I don’t put almonds or beans, I am not satisfied and I get hungry soon after.

Sides: Berries with greek yogurt or veggies and homemade dip or hummus, and crackers.

Afternoon Snack: I often find myself feeling “snacky” on the drive home from work (2:30-3:30) so I always bring an apple and keep whole almonds in my car if the apple is not enough.

Pre-Supper: Most of the time my afternoon snack is enough, but if I am later than usual I might eat Mary’s Organic crackers  http://www.marysorganiccrackers.com/ns/intro.php and goat cheese, or veggies and dip when I get home. As I am making supper, Scoob and I always snack on veggies such as, peppers, green beans, carrots, cauliflower, etc. Sometimes with dip, sometimes without, whatever I am in the mood for! If I am having some kind of salad or a main veggie meal, I make guacamole (using a whole avocado) and eat all of it :).

Supper: I eat a variety of things for supper, so I’ll give an example and elaborate on these meals in another post.

Coconut Chicken Stir Fry http://www.thefitcook.net/1/post/2012/04/curried-chicken-coconut-stir-fry.html

Asian Cole Slaw http://www.onceuponachef.com/2011/03/asian-slaw-with-ginger-peanut-dressing.html

I put a big scoop/scoop and a half (think pasta serving spoon) of each of these in a shallow pasta bowl and have more if I still feel hungry (which I rarely ever do).

Evening: I don’t often eat in the evening unless I didn’t eat properly/enough during the day. If I feel hungry I eat yogurt and fruit, toast and organic peanut butter, or a peanut butter smoothie ( tbsp pb, plain yogurt, almond milk, banana).

Chocolate: Several times a week I enjoy a piece of dark chocolate.

There you have it! CLICK *LIKE* IF YOU WANT MORE RECIPES AND INFO ABOUT WHAT I EAT FOR SUPPER

What does a typical day of eats look like for you? I would love to know! Please share with me 🙂

3 thoughts on “Inquiring Minds Want To Know…

Leave a Reply

