I CAN Believe It’s Not Butter, But I CAN’T Believe It’s Not Shampoo!

This is me squinting in the sun, right after I washed my hair with baking soda and apple cider vinegar

This is me (squinting in the sun) right after I washed my hair with baking soda and apple cider vinegar.

I am not one to simply follow what others advise, even if it is good advice. Like when my mother told me not to put peroxide in my hair; sound advice sure. Did I listen? Nnnnooo! I had to try it for myself. Orange really isn’t my colour.
In my quest to lead a healthier life, I have come across the idea of stopping the use of traditional commercial shampoo. Initially I thought this was absurd! After reading about all of the harmful chemicals is these products, (check out Joy’s information on this: http://www.joyoushealth.ca/2011/04/23/12-dirty-chemicals-in-your-personal-care-products/ ) my curiosity peaked and questions arose:
Do the chemicals I put on my skin go into my body?
Do those chemicals have adverse effects?
Is there a better way to take care of my hair?
Although I have switched to a natural body wash (I like “Early to Rise”, http://www.kissmyface.com/ ) it seemed too expensive and a bit over the top to change everything at once, so at first I decided to wash my hair less often. Err, I know this is supposed to be healthy and good for you, but my hair is very greasy and even in a headband, it didn’t look so hot. When I shared with a friend the information that I was washing my hair way less and took my headband off to show her, she exclaimed, “I can tell!!!” and we both had a good laugh.


Enter baking soda. Yes, for real. If you Google “poo-less” you will find countless articles and testimonials about cleaning your hair with natural products, including baking soda and apple cider vinegar. Weird! I found it hard to believe that the women in the photos had achieved lovely looking hair by using products from the kitchen. Again, my curiosity was peaked.
Never one to stand by and let others discover and experiment without me, I finally took the plunge. I couldn’t believe my eyes! I had a hard time telling the difference between my hair after using shampoo and my hair after using baking soda. It looked the same, it felt the same, if not a little softer. After marveling at myself in the mirror for a good ten minutes, I set off to take loads of pictures to document my findings 🙂
In addition to being healthier, saying “too-da-loo” to shampoo has other benefits. I read an article that said shampoo strips hair of its natural moisture and can weigh it down, supressing hair’s natural body. It can also save you money, if that is of interest to you.
I am going to try it for a month and what happens. Afterwards, I may keep this new regimen or, I may just buy some natural shampoo. I’ll let you know how it goes.
If you are curious and want to try it yourself, I encourage you to watch the video on this site:http://fabulouslydomestic.com/
Scroll down and on the right you will see videos. It is the second one. This woman convinced me to try it. She gives a great step by step instruction, as well as shares her success and simple tips.
Let me know how it goes!
Have you tried this before? What natural products do you use? Do you think I’m crazy? 🙂 Please share with me!

10 thoughts on “I CAN Believe It’s Not Butter, But I CAN’T Believe It’s Not Shampoo!

  1. Love the idea… but my hair is so short it’s not going to make much difference! I know that soaps are full of all kinds of rubbish that I probably don’t want to put on my skin, even though they are advertised as healthy… I am looking forward to see what other stuff you come up with 🙂

  2. You are not crazy. I started doing this last summer. Although lately I have had an issue with hairline acne from sweat and working out, so I bought an all natural shampoo. Dr. Brommers works really well-for everything! Hair, body, floors, ect. We also only clean with baking soda and vinegar and use the same with clogged drains.

  3. I went No-Poo from late April to Halloween 2011, and went back to vegan/organic shampoo from November to now. I switched back to shampoo because I got this weird build up in October–waxy, sort of greasy, and bad, smelly dandruff. UGH. I hated going back to shampoo, but I could NOT figure out what to do about my scalp. Tried tea tree oil and everything.

    On organic/vegan shampoo I weaned myself down to washing my hair about every seven days. Went back to baking soda last Thursday–it’s been ELEVEN days. My hair is just now starting to look a little lanky, but way better than when I was using shampoo. My friend Jo went No Poo about ten months ago and has had great success. She loves it. Good luck!

  4. Thanks for the shout-out! SO exciting to hear of other people that are inspired to try this! So far, I’ve had dozens try it and not ONE has gone back to regular shampoo! 🙂

    I will say this though — since posting that video, I’ve found that my hair can get a bit dry so I’ve started adding a middle step (in between the baking soda and ACV) of warming up a few tsp of coconut oil in my palms and then running that through my hair, rinsing it out after a few minutes, and then continuing with the ACV treatment. Works like a charm! Makes my hair super soft and manageable!

  5. Oh wonderful find! I have been freaking out about my hair, gulp, loss recently. I am not sure if it’s genetics (my Mom lost about 90% of her hair at age 32 while preggers with me), or a diet thing, or stress. But I am seeing scalp for the first time ever, and my once 4 inch thick ponytail is now a sad fraction of what it used to be. I think I will have to try this out!!

    • You should try it, I never thought I could go without washing my hair daily/every second day. I am still doing the same routine and only washing my hair twice a week. Many people have said my hair looks nice! You should watch the video for tips. Let me know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

