Changes

 

As I sit here this morning drinking my lemon water, Scoob asleep beside me, I think about the changes I have made over the last year and more recently, the last four weeks. And although the sun is not yet shining outside today, there is quite a bit of it radiating from inside of me.

I have NEVER in my life been willing to forgo cake in the name of a smaller bum (and let me tell you, I have a long way to go before anyone would use “small” and “bum” in the same sentence about me) . I have been heard saying, “If I can’t have cake, cupcakes, cookies,  ice cream, forget it! I don’t want to live in a world without cake”.

Well, sit down my dears, because I just might be willing to forgo cake for a joyous brain. I know; I am looking over my own shoulder to see who said that. The changes I have implemented in the last few weeks have had such a positive impact on me, I wouldn’t have believed it if I hadn’t seen it with my own two eyes!

Let me give you a break down of what I have been doing and how it has affected me:

Drinking lemon water first thing every morning before I eat or drink anything else.

It refreshes me, I enjoy the taste of it, and this morning I actually want another glass before having coffee. My skin is brighter and clearer. The main reason I started drinking it was to aid in digestion and I would say it is doing its job. It has also left less room/desire for coffee, so inadvertently I have had less caffeine which lessens anxiety and helps me sleep better.

Increasing fiber intake.

From a few grams a day to 20 grams at first, then 25, this week 30 grams or more. I put ground flax-seeds in my smoothies, eat chickpeas in my soup, have high fiber toast, and avocado almost every day. Wow! This one is a big one in my opinion. Eating enough fiber each day moves things through you like nobody’s business! This helps to detoxify your body naturally and keep things running optimally; which in turn makes your skin look better and gives you more energy.

Increasing fruits and veggies.

I don’t have a problem eating the good stuff, I have always loved fruits and veggies, but never have I eaten so many. I include a variety of colors and try new ones, in new ways. I just had kale in my smoothie yesterday! If you don’t know me, if someone would have suggested that to me just a few months ago, I would have laughed uproariously and adamantly refused. It tasted good!

Eating lots of good fat.

Yup, you heard me correctly. Stop being afraid of fat! I now make my own salad dressing with 1 part Olive oil to 3 parts acid (such as balsamic vinegar, lemon juice). I eat avocado every day, as well as dark chocolate regularly.

Stop eating or limit processed food.

Might be a tall order for some, but it is a very important one! I had been doing this over many months in an effort to be healthier and to save some money, since I am practically poor now. Oops, a story for another day! Any who, it wasn’t such a big leap for me these past few weeks. I did let go of:

  • White rice which I ate once a week with a stir fry or curry
  • Boxed cereal (I could have been accused of a Mini Wheats addiction)
  • Bagels from Tim’s ( I was getting quite out of hand with those, having them several times a week!)
  • Low fiber whole wheat bread (now I eat bread with 3 grams of fiber per slice)
  • Peanut butter
  • Sweets in general for the most part; I did have a cupcake Friday and eat dark chocolate whenever I feel like having it.

I think this step has had the most significant impact on me. In the weeks that I have been eating this way, my mood has improved DRAMATICALLY. I have a lot more energy than I thought was possible for me. I am calmer and more rational. A big deal for me! My mind feels sharper and clearer.

Using natural sources of sugar instead of white sugar.

Honey and maple syrup are good sources of natural sugar and taste delish! Please, for the love of yourself don’t use sugar substitutes! Those things are creepy. Just do a google search if you are not convinced.

There you have it! I am going to include some recipes and let you know what a typical food day looks like for me in the next couple of posts. As well as some other musings 🙂

Let me know about the changes you are making. What are you struggling with? What is the most effective change you have made?

P.S. I have lost two pounds a week for the past three weeks as a result of these changes 🙂

4 thoughts on “Changes

  1. So glad I found your blog! We seem to be on a similar journey! Unfortunately organic fruits and veggies are expensive but they are SO WORTH IT! I try to get them whenever possible. I wish you luck on your journey and will be following along! Blessings!

  2. Having the willpower to walk away from the sugar is so hard! I never used to think that I have a sweet-tooth…but me and ice cream have had too many encounters as of late. Way to go on your journey! It’s so fun to look back where you started and see where you are now.

    • I had a crazy sweet tooth! I used to eat an entire pint of Ben and Jerry’s while watching Survivor. I made the changes over time, which I think was key. I could never have gone cold turkey! I also ate A LOT of good stuff, and made sure my meals were totally tasty, otherwise, why bother? Thanks for your comment and getting me to look back. You’re right; it is fun!

Leave a Reply

