Surprise!

Another beautiful weather week! As the temperature climbed to highs of 26 degrees another Nancy inhabited my body and mind. She moved right in and unpacked her suitcase. Gone were the anxieties of March Break, as I repeatedly drove the 40  minutes home from work, window down, smiling to myself. I am definitely a soul sister of the Sun Goddess and welcome the unfaltering effects of her rays on my wellbeing.

With a lucid mind and invigorated by my discoveries of healthy living last week, each day this week I started my day with a glass of lemon juice and water. Other than it tasting really good and being refreshing, I haven’t yet noticed any improved digestion. I have decided to try it for one month, each morning on an empty stomach and see what happens. I have to say I do enjoy it more than having coffee first thing on an empty stomach. Eeeks! I’ve just surprised myself by saying that.

This week has been full of surprises. Having been called to action by Joy’s website, http://www.joyoushealth.ca/  I have been perusing lots of other interesting ones. As it turns out, I can’t get enough!  Dr. Oz supplied one big surprise when he told me, not directly of course, that healthy people should have at least one bowel movement per day. One poop a day? Sheesh! I bet some of you elders out there knew that, but I think I might be a spring chicken when it comes to body health. To spare you all the details about my bathroom habits, let’s just say that is not the case with me. Time to up my fiber intake from practically zero to the 25 to 35 grams recommended per day. Bring on the poop! You can explore the site for yourself: http://www.doctoroz.com/

Another revelation brought to light this week is the realization that my brain needs something to actively work on. Notice I didn’t say “obsess about”; it might be more accurate, but certainly not as sunshiny sounding. My mind races a lot, often moving much faster than my mouth (which gets me into trouble from time to time). Usually it grabs hold of something negative to work through, dredging up old sludge from yesteryears, causing endless cycles of anxiety and depression. It has always felt like a burden to me, one I was unable to see my way out of. This week it was actually fun to keep my brain fed with a positive project and I hope to uncover more clues as to how I can embrace this way of thinking, rather than try to stop it altogether.

I’m sure it’s no stunner that being outside fosters a positive brain. This afternoon after playing “baseball” with Jake at the park (me whacking a tennis ball with a huge stick we found), I found myself in my kitchen making vegetable broth from scratch and brewing green tea with honey and lemon to ice. As I was standing over the stove admiring my work, I felt happy and smiley and called mom to discuss this surprise. We marvelled together at how only one year ago I would never have made the effort to do either of these things, let alone have experienced any joy during the process!

I am always surprised by the seemingly sudden shifts in my thinking and by the fact that I didn’t make the connection before. Being a bit of a know it all, it takes a good swift kick in the arse (sometimes several) before I clue into many of the lessons the Universe tries to teach me. I am excited by the shifts I have experienced these past two weeks and I say to the world, “Keep them coming!”

In my effort to lead a more healthy vibrant life, here’s what I have been doing this week:

  • Increased my fiber intake to a minimum of 25 grams per day
  • Spent at least 20 minutes a day outside
  • Made homemade broth to use in soups rather than processed broth
  • Made my own salad dressing using 1tbsp Balsamic vinegar + 3 tbsp. Olive oil
  • Ate breakfast every day

What have you been doing? Has the awesome weather inspired you? Please leave a comment and share with me!

6 thoughts on “Surprise!

  1. Hello Nancy,
    I took a tip from a friend from last year and just came back from a six day all-inclusive in Veradero, Cuba, which has done me the world of good. Nothing like sun, sand, warmth and good company to make life feel worth living. Now I feel refreshed enough to head back to Mistissini to finish the year with my little angels.
    Thanks for the inspiration,
    Astrid

Leave a Reply

