Joyous Spring

Spring is in the air; it was 23 degrees here in Lennoxville today! I was so inspired, I got out the clippers and rid Jake of his winter attire. He was not as enthusiastic as I, and quite a lot less patient, so he and his new tiny bum will be heading off to the groomer later this week.

Something else inspired me this week (Wow! Twice in one week, you know the sunshine is getting to me). As I was checking up on my peeps on Facebook, I came across a really cool website. A friend was making reference to the Holistic Nutritionist Joy McCarthy, the owner of the site. Joy is the nutrition and health expert to Global’s Morning Show. Initially I thought, “Wow, my friend knows a celebrity!” Then after exploring her website, I thought, “My friend is sooo lucky!” Now I feel lucky for having discovered it:  http://www.joyoushealth.ca/

Spring has often been viewed as a time of renewal and finding this site could not have come at a better time. I have done a lot of “Spring Cleaning” this past year, through all four seasons. I’ve let go of some of those skeletons in my closet that no longer fit, swept up the dust bunnies and polished the floor of my inner palace. Overall, I would say have been managing myself quite nicely!

That being said, lately my brain has been feeling murky and I have started to feel a bit stagnant. I would like to blame it on too much time on my hands during March Break, but really it was just the time I needed to realize there is more cleaning to be done. As I was reading some of the blog entries and watching the videos on Joy’s site, I felt intrigued. She really was aptly named; this woman is delightful! She is bursting with joyous energy and has a really down to Earth way about her. Joy provides a lot of information on how to live joyous and healthfully.

Some of her ideas are very simple; drink a glass of lemon water each morning on an empty stomach to aid digestion (this I can do!) and some are more involved: give up dairy/caffeine/wheat for three weeks to detoxify ( I would never make it!). There is something for everyone. I’ve found myself drawn back to the website several times to read and learn more. And of course, I did think for a fleeting moment, perhaps I too could be a Holistic Nutritionist! Just like I thought I could be a Nurse, Truck Driver, most recently a Neuro Surgeon. Ha ha ha! I encourage you to take a peek and see what you can do for yourself this Spring to make it a JOYOUS one.

Here’s what I am doing:

  • Yoga
  • Walking regularly in nature
  • Meditation
  • Limiting processed foods
  • Playing music I enjoy
  • Taking vitamin D and Omega 3 (In the interest of full disclosure, I am a bit slack on this)
  • Getting enough sleep
  • Connecting more
  • Drinking more green tea (full of antioxidants)
  • Drinking lemon water
  • Eating lots of fruits and veggies
  • Working out my crap from many yesterdays

What are you doing or will you do? I would like to hear about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

